The Cosby Show Ended 21 Years Ago Today…

Am I the only one who’s a little sad?

I loved that show.  I adored it.

Everything about it was fantastic.  We saw for the first time an upper middle class African American couple (happily married) thriving and teaching all five of their kids (and grandkids, later on) what it meant to be good and successful.

Now, instead of Clair Huxtable, we’ve got Kris Jenner as America’s favorite matriarch.

Depressing.

Let me tell you something: Clair wouldn’t pimp out her kids.  Not only would Clair not pimp out her kids, but she also earned a living by lawyering.  She was good, bright, loving, knew to be her kids’ mother and not friend, and exceedingly responsible.  Young girls everywhere wanted to be like Clair.  She was IT.

Bring back Combustible Huxtable and his clan.  I miss them.  I want to see more of those sweaters promoting a college, more lessons on honesty, more episodes with loving grandparents, more episodes featuring parents actually disciplining their kids.

America would be better for it.  I know it like I know the sun will rise tomorrow.

